Musée Stella Matutina (Le)

Museum at Saint-Leu
  • The Stella Matutina museum, housed in an old sugar factory, takes visitors on a journey back in time. You can find out about the origins of sugar cane, the history of the Bourbon island pre sugar production and information about the development of the sugar industry post 1815.

    After exploring the complex world of sugar cane fields, visitors are then immersed in the life of the Stella Matutina estate and factory where they'll find out about sugar manufacturing and about life in and outside the factory. The tour also includes the shop and garden where visitors can marvel at the infinite variety of sugar-based products available.
    Stella Matutina Museum is an interpretive centre, showcasing the sugar cane agroindustry, as well as a history museum, reflecting the identity and culture of Reunion.
    The museum is open Mondays, from 1pm to 5.30pm and Tuesday to Sunday from 9.30am through to 5.30pm.
    Ticket office closes at 16.45pm.
    Closed on January 1st, Mai 1st and December 25th.
    Discount rate for students, persons with reduced mobility, groups of 10 people and more.
  • Environment
    • Rural
  • Spoken languages
    • English
  • Quality standards
  • Accessibility
    • Mobility impaired
  • Equipment
    • Boutique / specialised products
Payments methods
  • Visa
  • Eurocard - Mastercard
  • Cheque
  • Cash
  • Rates
  • Person
    9 €
  • All year
Add a review

Leave a review about Musée Stella Matutina (Le) :

  • Horrible
  • Bad
  • Average
  • Good
  • Excellent
  • Nouvelle visite après plusieurs années

    venu revisité le musée Après plus de 16 ans.. vraiment superbe mon fils de 4ans a adoré..tres ludiques avec toutes les vidéos et interactivité ne regrette pas et le personnel vraiment agréable...


  • Très bien

    agréablement surpris, très bon site de visite à faire en famille la visite ce fait avec un guide ou avec un casque interactive qui permet aussi de regarder les vidéo qui sont proposées dans chaque lieux