The main municipalities

From North to South and from East to West, Reunion Island promises the ultimate experience

Reunion has 24 municipalities, most of which are located on the coast but some, still unspoilt, are inland, perched in the “heights” of the island. Saint-Denis, the capital, is the largest of all French overseas towns. Each municipality covers a number of villages.
Saint-Denis in the north, Saint-Paul to the west, and the Saint-Pierre/Saint-Louis duo in the south: these four towns of Reunion Island have been awarded the prestigious titles of “Lands of Art & History” by the Ministry of Culture and Communication, as support for the measures implemented to promote the local heritage (built, natural, industrial and architectural heritage).

North region

Saint-Denis, Sainte-Marie and Sainte-Suzanne

East region

Saint-André, Bras-Panon, Saint-Benoit and Sainte-Rose

South region

Entre-Deux , Etang-Salé, Les Avirons, Saint-Louis, Saint-Pierre, Le Tampon, Petite Ile, Saint-Joseph and Saint-Philippe

West region

La Possession, Le Port, Saint-Paul, Saint-Leu and Trois-Bassins


Cilaos, Mafate and Salazie

The Plains

Plaine des Palmistes